Blocking / Deleting an ID
Expiration of the ID
Each ID is automatically deactivated 14 days after its respective expiration date.
The expiration of an ID occurs in the following cases:
- Employees: upon expiration of the employment contract (termination, retirement, etc.)
- Students: upon withdrawal from the university (either as a matter of course or due to failure to meet the re-registration deadline)
- For external users: upon expiration of the application submitted via the application portal
The user will be notified of the deactivation of their ID via email at least 14 days in advance.
Deactivation of an ID
Pursuant to §4 of the Terms of Use, “exclusion from use” is enforced, among other things, by deactivating the ID. In this case, notification via email may be omitted in accordance with Section 4, No. 2.
What Happens to the Data
All data stored under an account (such as emails, files, etc.) remains stored unchanged for an additional 6 months after deactivation. Within this period, an account can thus be fully reactivated.
After 6 months have elapsed, the user ID and all data stored therein (such as emails, files, etc.) will be permanently deleted, unless statutory retention periods require a different timeframe.
You are responsible for backing up your own data
Accordingly, every user is obligated to copy or download personal data (such as emails, files, etc.) on their own responsibility before the account is suspended or, in the case of employees, to hand over work-related data to their supervisor or successor in an appropriate manner.